Latest News

Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., and Robert J. Myerburg, M.D.

Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., and Robert J. Myerburg, M.D.

Miller School Cardiologist and Neurologist Play Key Roles in New Report on Cardiac Arrest

An expert committee assembled by the Institute of Medicine (IOM) has produced an important new report proposing methods for increasing survival rates and quality of life following cardiac arrest, and two prominent Miller School of Medicine physicians — cardiologist Robert J. Myerburg, M.D., and neurologist Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S. — played key roles on the committee.

The report recommends seven courses of action, including a national data base, new public education and training initiatives, and programs for improving response times in and out of hospitals.

Read more about the Institute of Medicine report »

More News

From left, Nagi Ayad, Ph.D., Claes Wahlestedt, M.D., Ph.D., Chiara Pastori, Ph.D., and Ricardo J. Komotar, M.D.

Researchers Discover Novel Cellular Mechanism Crucial to Brain Cancer Growth

A team of Miller School of Medicine researchers has discovered that a previously unappreciated so-called long noncoding RNA mechanism controls tumor growth of Glioblastoma Multiforme cells.

Read more about the research »

New Bascom Palmer Eye Institute facility in Naples. Video & Photo Gallery

Bascom Palmer Eye Institute Opens in Naples

Bascom Palmer Eye Institute has opened its much-anticipated new eye center in Naples, bringing world-class eye care to Southwest Florida.

Read more about Bascom Palmer's new eye center in Naples »

Sanjoy Bhattacharya, Ph.D., M.Tech.

Bascom Researcher Receives $1 Million Federal Defense Grant to Study Lipids to Combat Glaucoma

A researcher at Bascom Palmer Eye Institute is leading a research study to test whether a class of lipids found in inner eye fluid can help halt the progression of glaucoma among military troops and others who have experienced traumatic eye injury.

Read more about the research project »

Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S.

Neurology Leader Wins AHA Top Volunteer Award

Ralph L. Sacco, M.D., M.S., Professor and Olemberg Chair of Neurology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, has received yet another honor from the American Heart Association (AHA) for his outstanding work to reduce the risk of heart disease and stroke.

Read more about Dr. Sacco's award »

Chanelle Diaz and Hansel Tookes, M.D., M.P.H.

Researchers’ Findings Support Syringe Exchange Programs for Injection Drug Users

A team of researchers from the Miller School of Medicine and Jackson Memorial Hospital has published an eye-opening study of the financial cost to the public and the level of mortality for injection drug users admitted to Jackson for treatment of infections.

Read more about the research »

News & Events »

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean


Read Med


Read e-Update