Bascom Palmer's patient access representatives.

Superheroes in Orange Scarves and Ties

Lisandra Afanador walked into the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute more than 11 years ago gripping her small son’s hand as tightly as she would at the edge of a cliff. Her head was spinning, and her heart was heavy with emotion. She was sad, hopeful, anxious, and afraid.

Read more about Bascom Palmer's patient access representatives »

Carol M. Davis, D.P.T., Ed.D., M.S.

Dr. Carol M. Davis Creates Scholarship Fund to Benefit Physical Therapy Students

Carol M. Davis, D.P.T., Ed.D., M.S., the longtime Vice Chair of the Miller School of Medicine’s Department of Physical Therapy who played a key role in establishing its highly ranked curriculum, recently made a generous gift to support the program.

Read more about Dr. Davis' gift »

Chanelle Diaz and Hansel Tookes, M.D., M.P.H.

Years of Effort by Miller School Students Pay Off as Florida Governor Signs Needle-Exchange Law

More than five years of research, letter-writing, meetings, lobbying and other activities finally paid off this spring, when Florida Governor Rick Scott signed the Miami-Dade Infectious Disease Elimination Act (IDEA), the fourth version of a bill authorizing a pilot needle-exchange program for Miami-Dade County, into law.

Read more about the needle-exchange law »

From left, Pascal J. Goldschmidt, M.D., Omaida Velazquez, M.D., Danny Sleeman, M.D., Alan Livingstone, M.D., and Duane Hutson, M.D.

Dr. Danny Sleeman Receives the Duane G. Hutson Endowed Chair in Surgical Education

In a ceremony that highlighted several generations of physicians of the DeWitt Daughtry Family Department of Surgery at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, the Duane G. Hutson Endowed Chair in Surgical Education was presented to Danny Sleeman, M.D., professor of surgery, Vice Chairman of Surgical Education and Director of the Surgical Education Program.

Read more about Dr. Sleeman receiving the Hutson Chair »

From left, Stephen D. Nimer, M.D., Steven M. Altschuler, M.D., Julio Frenk, Norman Braman, Irma Braman, Dolores Lampert, Edward Lampert, Nicholas Lampert, Kinga Lampert, Nina Lampert, Marc E. Lippman, M.D., and Adam E. Carlin.

Sylvester Celebrates Dedication of Kinga and Edward Lampert Laboratory for Breast Cancer Research

Leaders from Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, the University of Miami and the Miller School of Medicine joined with breast cancer research supporters to celebrate the dedication of the new Kinga and Edward Lampert Laboratory for Breast Cancer Research, funded by a $1.5 million gift from the Lampert Foundation, at the Braman Family Breast Cancer Institute.

Read more about the Lampert Laboratory »

News Archives

Office of the Dean

A message from the dean


Read Med


Read e-Update